Fahl-out

on israel, philosophy, politics, SEO & nutrition

  • RSS The Economist

    • Our new daily edition for smartphones November 6, 2014
      Today we are delighted to announce the global launch of The Economist Espresso, a new morning briefing from the editors of The Economist. Delivered to your smartphone or inbox before breakfast, it tells you what’s on the global agenda in the coming day, what to look out for in business, finance and politics and, most important, what to make of it.Published e […]
    • Changing the climate debate October 30, 2014
      A MAJOR UN report on climate change, a new EU commission meets for the first time and America’s midterm election
    • Facing the old guard October 16, 2014
      JOKO WIDODO becomes Indonesia's seventh president, China’s elite meets for its annual conclave and a look at what rich countries are doing to stop the spread of Ebola
  • RSS Haaretz headlines

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Return to Israel, May 14th 2012

Posted by aviel on May 19, 2012

I figured I should start writing a bit about what it’s like to return to Israel now after almost 3.5 years in Exile.

So this Monday I got up at 4.20am and my friend Martin drove me to the airport in Gothenburg where I boarded a plane to Brussels, from where I had a connection flight to Tel Aviv. Saying goodbye to family and friends was more difficult this time than on my previous travels. I feel like I’m sacrificing more this time around. I’ve waited a long time to return to Israel, where I lived from May 2006 – December 2008. I had to finish my Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science and finally get my Swedish driver’s license, something I put on hold for too long. I told everyone for a long time already that I planned to go back, but especially my Israeli friends doubted my intentions since so much time elapsed and people usually don’t come back no matter what they say. I guess also friends and family didn’t know how serious I was since I was evading questions on it for quite some time, I guess in order to not look like a complete fool who’s just talking and never take action.

Anyways, at the Brussels Airport I sat down by my gate a good hour before boarding. All of a sudden I hear the announcement that passengers flying with El Al to Tel Aviv who don’t have a boarding card won’t be allowed on the plane. It sounded a bit strange and I figured that I already got one in Gothenburg. But since I had plenty of time and nothing to lose, I decided to go and check it out. It turns out that if I hadn’t my trip would have ended right there and then. Apparently they wanted to do a thorough security check on all passengers and, it seems, give new boarding cards. So I was interrogated, politely, by this security guy who took special interest in my life’s story. Yes, I converted to Judaism. Yes, the reasons for that are complicated but I’ll try to explain. No, I’m not so religious as I used to be anymore. My two passports with different names in them apparently didn’t ease his suspicions either.. 😛 And the fact that I didn’t know the address of the family with whom I was to stay. After about 20 minutes of explanations I was free to go. I’m not sure what he could have done considering the fact that I have an Israeli passport, but you never know.

After a pretty uncomfortable flight, next to two Belgian French speakers who needed some of my seat as well and who slept through most of the journey, I finally arrived. Without my luggage of course. It took a day off in Brussels, then another in Tel Aviv, in order to finally arrive two days late – without any compensation of course, I mean, who would want to change clothes after only a couple of days in a much warmer climate?

Coming back felt really weird in the beginning. It’s not like I was wondering whether I made the right decision; I made the only one I could from my point of view, but I wondered if I would find my place here after so much waiting. I know it’s not going to be easy, but I hope it’s going to be worth it.

Leave a Reply

 
